Is Home Really Where the Heart Is?

Unlike economic migration, exile, or variations of forced migration, ‘existential migration’ is conceived as a chosen attempt to express or address fundamental issues of existence by leaving one’s homeland and becoming a foreigner. This is not simple wanderlust or international travel. It is a motivated quest that is deeply resonant with the person’s whole relation to life.  Grey Madison

As a young woman living in the South Bronx I always had this feeling of leaving home.  Not just down the street, or to the next borough, or to another state, I wanted to go as far as my legs could take me.  I wanted to cross the pond.  Forty years later I was able to cross the pond to the Netherlands, however, after awhile it did not feel like home.  Three years later I returned to the states only to feel that it still did not feel like home.  My restlessness was exasperating at times.  Then in 2013 my husband and I moved to France.  France was always a favorite of mine.  Perhaps because while living in New York I watched a lot of French movies, keeping up with the subtitles, but never really learning the language.  In Gaillac, I took French classes, but it didn’t sink in fast enough, and I felt like an outsider.  When people would speak to me in French and realized I was not fluent, they politely excused themselves and went on their way.  It was too much work to try to understand my Franglais.  So now I am trying to think of a way to create work that reflects this feeling of feeling alienated and displaced in a foreign land as well as the land I grew up in.  I know at some point I need to go back to New York and find some semblance of connection.  Or perhaps I have lost the connection to the place that nurtured my wanderlust.

And so I shall go deep within myself and think and feel and try to express these feelings through whatever medium I can.  Ok, the challenge is on!

IMG_2453

{“total_effects_actions”:0,”total_draw_time”:0,”layers_used”:0,”effects_tried”:0,”total_draw_actions”:0,”total_editor_actions”:{“border”:0,”frame”:0,”mask”:0,”lensflare”:0,”clipart”:0,”text”:0,”square_fit”:0,”shape_mask”:0,”callout”:0},”effects_applied”:0,”uid”:”B4501EBD-5C68-4E10-95DF-B64CCBBA5B82_1458148337141″,”width”:3264,”photos_added”:2,”total_effects_time”:0,”tools_used”:{“tilt_shift”:0,”resize”:0,”adjust”:2,”curves”:0,”motion”:0,”perspective”:1,”clone”:0,”crop”:0,”enhance”:0,”selection”:0,”free_crop”:0,”flip_rotate”:0,”shape_crop”:0,”stretch”:1},”sources”:[],”origin”:”gallery”,”height”:2448,”total_editor_time”:426180,”brushes_used”:0}

Leave a Reply

