It’s a Beautiful Morning.  So why am I still in bed?

They say once you get past 60 your sleep patterns change.  Sure enough for the last few days I have been having a war with my bed covers.  Tossing and turning hoping that my eyes would get heavy and I get lulled to sleep.  But noooo, didn’t happen.  So what’s up with that?  Maybe when the lights are out I think too much. Or maybe it’s the night time watching of crime shows, particularly British ones.  I don’t know, but it’s got to stop because waking up at noon is counter productive to my creative energy.  

Well today I got up at 8:00 am.  Yay for me, but I was still in bed looking at Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Email, and Flipbook.  So today I will be super creative, at least that is what I am going to try.  

My grandmother used to get up at 5:00 am and sit by her window in the South Bronx.  She did not do much because it was not really home.  Home was in Puerto Rico, but all her children migrated to New York, so she came also.  At least in Puerto Rico she would be working in her garden, but living in an old apartment must have been awful for her.  So she would sit by the window and watch the children play, and watch me as I went to school, and she would still be there when I got back.  At least the apartment faced a busy boulevard?  I wonder if I will sit by the window at 5:00 am in the morning?  But wait, in the winter it will be dark.  Maybe I still won’t be able to sleep.  So what will I do?  Take selfies in my bed?  Watch reruns of Law and Order?  Or maybe I will get up and write in my journal, which I don’t have yet.  

Alas, I am getting up and go for a long walk and see if I get inspired.  We will see.  Sleep, it’s so over rated.

Leave a Reply

