Looking right…looking left…

221626_10150162152376076_6396606_n

 

I look right…I look left.  I do not see him.  Maybe he has seen me and decides to leave unnoticed.  I glanced at my phone.  There’s still five minutes left before I call this rendezvous closed.  I look at my reflection from the window in front of me.  “Everything looks in place”, I thought to myself.  But where is he?  My stomach is in knots and my breath is shallow.  I feel faint.  I take small steps in front of me so I can get a better view.  No, nothing yet.  My watch says 30 seconds and I begin to sweat.  What am I afraid of?  It’s not like I haven’t done this before.  Maybe he won’t come and then I can just go home.  I take a tissue and blot my forehead.

 

I look left…I look right…  I close my eyes and listen to the voices in the crowd.  It’s a cacophony of pitches and sounds.  I concentrate really hard hoping I can hear the familiar voice, but nothing.  “What’s the use I tell myself…it’s just a waste of time”, but is it?  It just takes one meeting.  That is all you need and then you know if that person is the one.  Just one meeting and then maybe I don’t have to do this anymore.

 

I look left…I look right.  I look for my subway pass and begin to walk towards the stairs.  Vivienne? There in front of me stood this dark haired rugged looking man with a gentle smile.  “Yes! Thomas?”  He nodded and smiled even a bigger smile.  Coffee?  I said, “That would be nice”.  He took my arm, but before we walked, we looked left…and then we looked right…

Leave a Reply

